mr. field coordinator himself

Look for my name in the credits when you tune into Travel Channel’s No Reservations tonight (8 p.m. for you Hawaii folks). I’m listed as a field coordinator. How cool is that? Do I know what a field coordinator means? Not really, but I’m happy to be one and it sounds special enough.

I was reading Max Landes’ blog on Travel Channel’s website and made me reminisce about the short week I spent with the producers and cameramen. Producing a show can be hectic at times and I can truly attest to that with TOP CHEF 2’s season finale. It takes a lot of planning and organizing and changing things around at the last minute. You really need to have a cool head to really succeed. Max definitely was a cool guy.

Max getting Lomi lomiBourdain in KalihiBourdain in Kalihi

(Left to right: producer Max getting a massage during the shoot; Bourdain hanging out with Christian Yrizarry and Lanai; prepping for the shoot in Kalihi)

If you’re interested in reading more about some of the segments they shot in Hawaii, I’ll be posting my takes from a few segments. First off, the shoot in Kalihi for the backyard paina with local morning radio DJs Kaleo Pilanca from 102.7 Da Bomb and Lanai from Island 98.5.

When I first heard of Lanai and Kaleo being the “guides” for this segment, I was a bit hesitant. What are these comedians going to talk about? When we got there, I was at ease. Lanai and Kaleo really made Tony and the production team feel really welcomed. Listening in on what Lanai was talking to Tony about, it really felt like they were giving him a true slice of Hawaii…from Kalihi Valley (what a great view of the sunset too). For those of you who know Kalihi Valley, you won’t often find a 6 foot tall Caucasian guy walking around very often. In a way, it seemed like it was a concocted scene from a movie…in this case, a Travel Channel show.

They brought out the green bottles and served up some opihi, grilled SPAM, oyster sauce/mayonnaise basted red snapper, ahi poke, tako poke, beef luau, and palu sami (Samoan dish made with taro leaves, coconut milk, and corned beef) among other great local food items. One scene that they cut out was the kava scene that Uncle Derek made fresh for Bourdain. From the stories I heard, all the cameramen tried it and by the end of the night, they were feeling it.

Bourdain in KalihiBourdain in KalihiBourdain in Kalihi

(Left to right: Uncle Derek preparing a bowl of kava for Bourdain; Bourdain “talking story” with Lanai and Kaleo; prepping the red snapper for the grill)

9 Responses

  1. I was looking up information on this show because I watched it last night, and up pops your blog. Way to go Mr. Coordinator.

  2. Haha. Good stuff. Did you like the episode?

  3. Mikey! The episode was great! I wish it had been longer… 😛

  4. wow, that girl dancing hula at the kalihi luau was FIIIIIIIIIIIIIINE!

  5. Hey Lianne. Yah, I was hoping that he would do a few more segments. The Big Island one was a bit drawn out.

  6. Hey Monte. Yah, she’s pretty cute. I think she models in Hawaii. Maybe for Jeans Warehouse or something. I’ve seen her around town.

  7. did the DJs serve any kalbi? can’t imagine a BBQ w/out kalbi.

  8. Hahaha. No kalbi, Mr. Freckles. Just basically what I listed.

  9. […] in saudi arabia Posted on July 21, 2008 by kruz808 Since I’ve blogged about Bourdain in the past, some folks on behalf of Travel Channel sent me some preview clips of upcoming episodes so all my […]

Leave a Reply

