say “aloha salad”

So I’ve been seeing a couple new salad take-outs popping up around town. First was Salad Creations that opened up on the corner of Bishop and Hotel Streets. San Francisco Salad Co. has been around for awhile and still has its long lines (I’ll vouch that the stuff is good there…try the tortilla soup with the chips on the side). Downtown opened up at the Hawaii State Art Museum (HiSAM) over a year ago (good stuff and the motto goes “local first, organic whenever possible, and with aloha always” and I love their biodegradable utensils).

When I first heard of it, I was stoked about Salad Creations, a new create-your-own salad place in the downtown area. After a couple tries, I was a bit put off with the service and the quality of ingredients…the place eventually shut down for a couple weeks and reopened.

Back to the point of this post…I want to introduce everyone to Aloha Salads, a fairly new create-your-own salad counter that are conveniently located at Kahala Mall and Ward Warehouse. The Kailua location is a bit out of reach since I’m a townie. The prices at this joint is reasonable and may bit a bit pricey…but for their quality of ingredients, I’ll dish out a couple more bucks.

I’ve tried the Ono Island Ahi and Satay salads (both yummy choices). Today, I ordered their Lobster bisque…mmm so good that it reminded me of the ones I had on the East Coast. This place was so good that I’m turning a lot of my friends onto it. Join the Aloha Salad cult…I did!

Leave a Reply

